Not An Introduction

I’m not going to pretend I know what I’m doing.

I don’t.

But, I do enjoy writing, and starting a blog is something I’ve been considering for a while. Goodness knows how many times I’ve written a ‘first blog post.’ This is the first time I’ve ever posted one though.

I’m not entirely sure what I’m even going to say, in posts to come. But I’m sure I’ll find things. I feel that this is going to become a sort of diary that I’m sharing with the world. A document of the experiences of a sixth form girl with all of her own strange kinds of experiences. Stories from my life. Hence the name – hopefully you, my unknown and probably non-existent readers, will come to look forward to my posts as your weekly story-time. An escape from your life, and into my very problematic one.

It’s like when you read a book about someone with an awful life, and it makes you feel better, because yours no longer seems so bad. Except, my life is not quite John-Green-novel-worthy. That said, I’m not sure anyone’s really is. Either way, my life is not awful, but it is, as previously stated, problematic.

It is also, however, real, and laughing at other people’s real problems is so much more fun than laughing at other people’s fictional problems.

Now, as previously stated, I have no idea what I’m doing when it comes to blogging, and nor will I pretend to. But I do feel that the best way for me to approach writing a blog is as if it’s a piece of fiction in first person, and the narrator just so happens to be exactly the same as me, because I seem to be able to do that kind of thing. Writing fiction is, for me, one of the most enjoyable and rewarding things to do. And, rather conveniently, I seem to be quite good at it.

Blogging, however, is something that I’m new to. As I said, I’ve been considering it for a while, but how I’m going to go about this is unknown to me. So, like any normal person would do, I’m going to pretend that it isn’t, because denial is one of the things that I do best. Maybe if I pretend that this is something I’m good at, and not something horribly new to me, then I actually will be good at it. That’s what I’m hoping, anyway. Otherwise this might just turn into something awful, and nobody wants that to happen.

I feel like I should introduce myself, but that makes me feel cocky, and being less cocky is something I’ve been working on.

Yes, and starting a blog to talk about all your problems isn’t cocky at all, Jemimah.

Hey, I introduced myself. That’s my name, Jemimah. Like the woman who stares at you while you make pancakes, but with an ‘h’ on the end. As you probably already realised, though, I go by Mima. Only I much prefer the way it looks without a capital ‘M’. (mima, if you wanted to compare.)

Now, introductions. Or rather, just one introduction. If you feel like it, though, you can introduce yourself in the comments. It would probably make my day, or something. Anyway, instead of a boring ‘this is my life and here is who I am,’ kind of introduction, I’m going to tell you some things, and you can come to your own conclusions about who I am.

As I write this, I’m sitting on the bus, on the way back from sixth form (which is pretentious British speak for ‘last two years of high school’) wearing a leather jacket and clunky shoes, and listening to The Smiths with too much eyeliner on, whilst attempting to look all cool and like I’m not writing a blog post on my aggressively-not-Apple-because-that’s-too-mainstream phone, because there are lots of people around me who might judge me if they know I’ve started a blog, and, despite my ‘you shouldn’t care what other people think of you’ attitude, I care a little too much what other people think of me.

Over the course of the last two years or so, I seem to have become one of those ‘alternative kids,’ despite my very best intentions. Leather jackets and The Smiths just reek of teenage angst and rebellion. In my defence, I am wearing a beanie with the word ‘Happy’ plastered across it, but it’s still a black hat pulled low over my forehead, and, as a logical result of this, I look thoroughly grungy. I also just caught sight of myself in a reflection, and my face is sending the message that I want to kill someone, which doesn’t help. But hey, it isn’t my fault that this is my writing face.

Oh, and the song changed to ‘Demon Days’ by Wild Wild Horses, who you probably haven’t heard of. I’m so indie and hipster and alternative, yo.

My reason for saying this all is because I feel that it is a better introduction than telling you about my life, because, if I actually manage to keep this up, you will hear far more than you want to about my life. Although, you would probably just stop reading if that were the case.

Also, what better way to get to know someone than by reading their description of what they’re doing, written in a way that they desperately hope will be funny, in order to make you subscribe? Yay for desperation and social incapability.

So that’s me, anyway. Uncool, sometimes grungy, and reluctantly chucked into the indie/alternative pot. I feel that after I was thrown in, I was left to simmer for too long with a bunch of kindly metal-heads, over-zealous TØP fans, unexpected drama nerds, secretly insane genius’s, and premature crazy cat ladies.

What an excellent description of my friends.

I feel that I’m exactly what you would expect to come out of a group of friends like that, except that I also love Disney princesses more than is healthy and spend significantly too much time reading.

I am, in terms of the delightful high-school cliques that we are all much too aware of, a wallflower. I observe the drama, am greatly entertained by the drama, and, as of beginning this blog, tell the internet about the drama, all the while never being involved in it myself. All around me, people are being exciting and getting involved in wonderful situations, and all the while, the most exciting thing I can say that I’m involved in is frequent visits to the hospital (n0, I’m not dying, I’m not John-Green-novel-worthy, remember?) and helping make the coffee at church.

And yes, I am one of those people who looks forward to getting up early on Sunday more than staying out late on Saturday.

As if on cue, my music just changed from Halsey (oh the irony) to Rend Collective, who, if you aren’t aware, are a stellar Christian music group.

And now, I have run out of things to say.

As I finish proof-reading and adding to this for about the fifth time, it’s gone 7, about 3 hours after I started, back on the bus. This has taken far too long, and I probably just broke the illusion or something by divulging my timings, but hey, this whole thing is a mess anyway.

Have a lovely week, and don’t die before you come back.

Lots of love, Mima xox

TL;DR (ahaha I’m hilarious): I’m another weirdo with a blog, looking for a creative outlet and some affirmation.

Leave a Reply

