Why I Won’t Wish You A ‘Happy New Year’

I’ve decided not to wish you a happy new year, because so many people have said that to me in the last week that, to be honest, I’m tired of it. What’s happened to the good old fashioned ‘goodbye’?

But I’ve another reason not to, and that is my disdain for the wonderfully pointless practise of celebrating the new year with more zeal than we celebrate things that are actually worth celebrating, like book releases and my birthday.

I mean, what a joy it is to celebrate one random day ending and another beginning! (But only when it fits in with the arbitrary and entirely man-made ending of another year, as per the Gregorian calendar, mind you.)

Or, are we celebrating the earth doing another full circuit around the sun? In which case, congratulations, gravity, you inanimate concept, you, for pulling this massive hunk of rock and water around a ginormous ball of gas yet again!

My sarcastically-made point is, the new year doesn’t seem to be worth celebrating, to me. I mean, sure, it’s exciting, the earth is another year older, I guess, but the earth doesn’t care. It’s not as if we’re celebrating being one year closer to anything, because we don’t know when anything exciting might happen in the future, so how do we know when to celebrate it?

I dunno. Maybe I’m just a pathetic cynic, but I honestly don’t see the point in celebrating the new year, at least not as much as we do. I mean, it’s different wherever you are in the world anyway, y’know? My best friend was in Sri Lanka, and so 2016 was over for her 11 hours before it was for me, so she didn’t even get the full year! So what was she celebrating? A year being over? Sure, it was kinda an awful year for most people (I’m not even going to get into it), but if people are celebrating the end of one year then why do they put so much stress on the night being a ‘new beginning’?

Speaking of, there’s also the whole ‘new year, new me,’ crap that I hear every year. Like ‘this year, I’m going to get in shape!’ and ‘this year, I’m going to learn how to play the piano!’ and ‘this year, I’m going to stop being a lazy, sarcastic jackass!’

Like, if you really wanted to get in shape, you would have started working out as soon as you decided it would be your resolution, at some point in November, probably, and if you really wanted to learn to play the piano, which, fyi, takes more than a year, then you would have started as soon as you got your hands on a keyboard. And in terms of being a jackass – the people around you would have liked you so much more if you just…stopped, instead of allowing yourself another few weeks to be a douche.

New year’s is just another day, in my opinion, a day in which lying to yourself and those around you is seen a socially acceptable, a day which excuses idiotic and stupid behaviour in the days leading up to it, because ‘I only have a few days left of – ‘ and ‘I’ll stop soon!’

For all of this, you’d assume that I didn’t celebrate the new year this time around, but actually, I did. I even hosted. I’m not one to allow a perfectly good excuse for a party to be wasted.

I say party, but really it was 5 of my best friends and I playing Articulate in my living room and then pouring cheap wine into cider bottles and drinking it in a field as we took aesthetic and edgy photos of each other with my fancy camera.

Turned out to be one of the best nights out I’ve had in a while. Better than the one earlier in December when I ended up getting wasted and throwing up into my best friends bin and sleeping half the night away, anyway.

No more details, I’m afraid. And only partially because I can’t remember most of them. I regret most parts of that night, and do not want to write about them.

Anyway. Moving on from my temporary lapse in judgement and out-of-character behaviour.

It would also make sense for you to assume that I’ve not made a new year’s resolution, seeing as I’m incredibly critical of them.

But I’ve actually made a couple.

My first is to take lots of photo’s this year, and also to get in lots of photos, too, and then to scrapbook them all. I’ve already started on this one, by printing off those aesthetic photos from New Year’s Eve and sticking them into a cute scrapbook that I decorated with some butterfly stickers. This is something I’ve been meaning to start doing for a while, and starting with the new year seemed logical, because then I could write ‘2017’ on the front of the book, instead of ‘2016-2017’ which just doesn’t look as good.

Another project that I’ve embarked upon this year is one I have named ‘365 Days of Productivity’. At the start of December, when I realised how much of my time was being wasted on staring at my phone and watching pointless telly and staying in bed until midday, I sat down and wrote out a list of things that I count as productive, and put them all in categories, and gave myself criteria and conditions and came to the conclusion that, for me, in my current state of health, a productive day means completing at least 4 productive actions spanning across 3 of my different categories. I have different conditions for if my pain level is above a 7, and for Christmas and my birthday and that kind of thing. It’s all very organised and I even bought a really pretty notebook and some nice pens for me to document it in, and because, like the majority of other humans, I use dates to help me plan my life, I decided to begin documenting this project on the first of January, because it’s more satisfying than the eighth of December. I did, however, actually start doing the things then, and writing it all in my phone instead of in the notebook. Aesthetically, it’s a new year’s resolution, but in reality, it was a ‘I’m wasting my life’ resolution.

And they’re not even really new year’s resolutions. They’re more just projects I’m starting, and it made sense to do so at the beginning of the year.

Whatever. This post hasn’t had much of a point, and it’s also a good week and a half late, but I won’t give you any more excuses, because I’ve done that for all of my past 3 posts and let’s be honest, it’s my laziness more than my busy-ness that’s responsible for my lack of posting.

I did have a very busy Christmas period, though.

Anyway. Here’s to hoping I’m more active in my upcoming 365 days of productivity.

Have a lovely week, and don’t die before you come back,

Lots of new-year love,

Mima xoxo

P.S. I hope you had a lovely Christmas/Hanukah –  I have no cynical remarks on why we shouldn’t celebrate them!

P.P.S. Shout out to Jemima at –  https://jemimaabu.wordpress.com/2016/12/31/new-year-new-me-lol-nah-b/  – for her similar and brilliant post that I saw as I was starting to write this – her blog is as brilliant as her name  😉

2 thoughts on “Why I Won’t Wish You A ‘Happy New Year’

Leave a Reply

